Random Thoughts on Symmes

… inept, but trying real hard

I want my Maumee! July 27, 2007

Filed under: Children,Events,Family,Fun!,Photos,Travel — Layni @ 9:45 am

Well y’all – we’re heading out for vacation. 

We’re leaving this afternoon & driving north to Maumee Bay on Lake Erie. 

 maumee-bay.jpg

We’ll hang out there thru Saturday, hiking & placing a couple of letterboxes [please see “Good Wholesome Fun“, I’m not explaining this again!] & then Sunday morning we’ll head back this way a bit to Ohio Cavern’s.  Did y’all know we had caves this close to us?  Neither did we [thanks for the tip Sheila!]

palace1.jpg

Cool, huh?

Here we’re staying at Indian Lake State Park Sunday & Monday night, which is also near West Liberty, where we’ll likely head over to so we can check out Piatt Castles.  Because castles are cool.

piatt-castles.jpg

And shhhhhh, don’t tell the kids, but we’re also going to Marmon Valley Farm to  go horseback riding. 

So anyway, I have to go get packed … because I work best under pressure, obviously. 

Have a great weekend & I’ll give you an update when we get back on Tuesday.